Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

Drawing while reading: #1

Illustrating scenes from the books I read: Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell
2

Hello,

I promised you’ll get to peak over my shoulder while I draw, so here’s a time-lapse video of me painting a scene from Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell.

Agnes just married a future playwright, it’s her first night in her new home, in her new life. She walks around the house in the dark, touching gently all its parts, getting to know the space while everyone is asleep.

It’s a short scene but such a gentle image of stillness, moonlight, and the shadowy in between time. I loved it and I painted it. What do you think? 

I have about 50 pages of Hamnet left, and as with all good books, I’m not quite ready for it to end. 

This will be a little series I will come back to over time, of drawings/paintings based on the books I’m reading. Let’s see where it goes.

Thanks for reading x

Discussion about this podcast