Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

One Honest Drawing a Day: The Bookshop.

Sketching Surrounded by Books.

( I am trying a weekend post instead of a Friday afternoon one. What do you think? Do you have a preference? I like sending out posts on Fridays but you may have more time to read them over the weekend. Let me know! )

This was a perfect drawing setting: in the back corner of the room, surrounded by books sitting on the shelves and piling up on the floor. The chair wasn’t very comfortable but the silence was; that slightly sleepy library type. 

The bookseller was around my age (everyone is around my age now. Even if they’re actually younger), with short hair and round glasses. She accepted my bag of book donations with a smile and got back to her work.

I started with big blobs of my favourite grey gouache paint. I marked the darkness of the bookshop against the daylight of the sky coming through the windows. The bookshop silence relaxed me and the blobs turned out well.

I drew the rather old red carpet with my red pencil, trying to get the feeling of the pattern. People walked around me and all over the carpet, but I didn’t mind.

I added some green soft pastel here and there and started on the rows and piles of books. I could easily get carried away with this, but the not-so-comfortable chair helped. It reminded me that I have limited time here (or else I will stop feeling my legs) and I must use it wisely. 

More details followed: boxes stacked on top of each other, smaller shelves, and a chair. All full of books. Obviously.

Towards the end I added the bookseller herself, sitting at her desk by the window.

And then I realised that my drawing was done and my bum was numb. And so I got up. 

It was a special afternoon and it resulted in a special drawing. I will turn it into a short run of prints, and I’ll let you know when they’re available. 

As always, thanks for reading!

x

Drawing Out Loud is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast