Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

The in-between drawings

Flicking through my 3 materials challenge sketchbook

Today I’m looking at the drawings that didn’t make it to my #3materialsdrawingchallenge selection (I’m writing about the challenge here). I’m not sure why they didn’t. They probably all have different stories to tell. Stories of rejection and disqualification. But I really do like them, and I must give them space to shine, and that space is here.

So in order of appearance, I present:

  • The pavilion in the Regents Park during the Yoillo meet-up (they are a brilliant bunch of illustrators meeting up once a month. If you’re in London, come along!)

  • Gillian Lynne theatre sketched during a dinner at Caravan restaurant across the street. I failed to add the title of the musical but it sounded cool: “Standing At The Sky's Edge”.

  • Looking into the Chai’s Garden Thai restaurant from a Skehan’s beer garden

  • A family enjoying a probably expensive lunch at the Tate Modern’s cafe

  • Coursemates working on their storyboards during the Picturebook Summer School (I wrote about it here. I loved it and my life never went back to normal after this experience.)

  • Borough Market just before it closed for the day

  • Also Borough Market, the ice cream stall

  • Gallery hall at the V&A Museum. This was the first ever drawing I did for the challenge so it seems fitting it’s the last one on this video, although that wasn’t planned.

On some days I managed more than one drawing, especially in the beginning, before the challenge fatigue kicked in. Planning more than one drawing in a session takes away the pressure to produce that One Majestic Piece Of Art. And who needs that pressure?

As always, thanks for reading.

x

Drawing Out Loud is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast